Guest Post: Cute DIY Holiday Cards!

Today, on Dietitian Debbie Dishes, I have a special guest – Esther from Chocolate Runner Girl! We connected through Elf for Health and I’m so excited to have her share her card making expertise on the blog today. 

Hello all!  This is Esther over at Chocolate Runner Girl!  It is my privilege to be a guest blogger today for Debbie!  Thanks to the Elf for Health (Elf4Health) challenge, we were matched together for a fun blog exchange!  I normally post about food and fitness, but I wanted to step out of my box today to talk about something else in my life that I am passionate about.

During this time of year everywhere I look there seems to be Christmas/holiday cards on sale.  A few years ago as I looked for some cards to send my family and friends, there was nothing that really stood out to me.  I decided that I would make my own!  I was a bit overwhelmed at first with where to start, but once I got going I found a style that was pretty simple, and it was a lot of fun!  I ended up making cards for other holidays and celebrations and even starting a small (as in tiny) card business! It is a fun way to add a personal touch to all special occasions!

I first purchase my supplies from a craft store, like Michaels, or Hobby Lobby.  I tend to buy my paper in bulk since I make many cards at the same time. The craft stores have aisles of paper to choose from, and I have to admit I have a hard time only choosing a few!  So many pretty colors and patterns!!
Over the past few weeks, several friends have asked me how I make my cards, and I can’t think of a better time to share some of my tips!

Here is an example of how I made a card for this holiday season. Once I have picked my paper, blank card, and any stickers or stamps to add to it, I grab a glue stick  and scissors & get ready to put the card(s) together.

IMG_9746

Step one: Fold and cut the paper to the size of the card. It is helpful to lightly trace the back of the paper with a pencil to know where to cut.

Step two: Glue the paper to the card and then cut any extra paper off!

Step three: Add any embellishments such as stickers, stamps or both 🙂

IMG_9747
Here are some samples of cards: I like to make some more traditional cards, and some that are fun too!  I am a huge fan of sparkles, so adding anything that glitters to the cards makes me smile!

IMG_9743

IMG_9745

You can check out more:
Facebook pages: Esma Card Company and Chocolate Runner Girl
Twitter: @run_chocolate
Instagram: chocolaterunnergirl

2 thoughts on “Guest Post: Cute DIY Holiday Cards!

Leave a Reply

