10 Things Tuesday: Body Image and My First Reuben

10 things tuesday 1. We picked up some salmon this week when grocery shopping… I am thinking we may just have to use it to make a broiled version of these grilled balsamic salmon kabobs
2. Normally, I am no potato salad fan. (Too much mayo for me, thanks!) However, I felt like I could be tempted by this curried sweet potato salad from Peanut Butter Fingers.
3. Why do we as women use up so much time and energy incessantly critiquing our appearance? I love Gina’s post, For [Body] Shame, which discusses just how hard it is to truly break free from this self-deprecating cycle of body shaming and why it is so important that we do.
4. Sometimes, I feel like I enjoy Joy the Baker’s introspective non-recipe posts the best. She wrote this one, I never could have known this week.
5. I loved this collection of summer recipes from Hillary at Nutrition Nut on the Run. The peach blueberry crisp is calling my name…
6. Can I confess to you that I am absolutely terrible at anything crafty/DIY? That doesn’t mean I can’t still admire and dream about recreating one of these DIY headboards!
7. I love the simplicity of this little green salad from Cookie and Kate.
8. Speaking of salads, I am drooling over this peach and arugula salad with goat cheese from Catherine at The Broccoli Hut.
9. This homemade wine cooler from Fit Foodie Finds looks so yummy. (I think I just might have everything I need to make it in my kitchen right now…)
10. Will and I went out to the Chicago Diner on Friday night. (Where I took the picture above!) They are an entirely vegetarian and vegan restaurant, which was a lot of fun for me. We ended up sharing their signature vegetarian Reuben sandwich. (The first time I’ve ever had one!) It was SO good! I could totally go back again this weekend for another. DSCF4751

Leave a comment